Modern Applique Illusions: PDF Patterns

Hi everyone. I hope you’ve all had a good week and are headed into an exciting weekend! If your weekend involves sewing, so much the better!

If it happens to involve sewing something from Modern Appliqué Illusions, this post might be of interest to you. Back in the development stages of the book, my publishers decided that it would be easiest to put all of the patterns for the book’s appliques online as downloadable PDFs. Putting them in an electronic format was necessary, because some of the projects require appliques that are too large to print on a standard pull-out (one of them is 5 feet long!)–including them all at full size would have made the book prohibitively expensive. Making them available as printable PDFs means that readers can print only those patterns that they are going to use instead of paying for printed patterns for all of the projects in the book. At the same time, you can download all of the patterns to your computer at once and print them at full-size any time you want, rather than having to bring the book to a copy shop to have things enlarged.

CaseyYork_ConcreteJungleHowever, I’ve heard from some readers that there can be some difficulty in accessing the PDF downloads using the web URL that is included in the book, and I wanted to address that here (with C&T’s permission). Unfortunately, I can’t simply post a link to the patterns, but I can give you some general tips that should make accessing the patterns easier.

First, it’s important to type the URL into the address bar in your internet browser exactly as it appears in the book. (If you leave out part of the web address, the link might direct you to an unfortunate Halloween costume instead.)

Second–and this is important–entering the URL might not bring you to a new webpage. Instead, it will call up a pop-up box that will ask how you would like to download and save the PDF patterns. If you have a pop-up blocker running as a plug-in to your browser, this could interfere with the process, so make sure to disable any such software before you try to access the patterns. Also, if you’re like me, you might instinctively close any pop-up windows that you encounter when you’re online. Be aware that a window such as this is exactly what you want if you’re trying to download the patterns for Modern Appliqué Illusions.

CaseyYork_Grove

Finally, if you continue to have trouble downloading the patterns, I am here to help, as are the staff at C&T. Please email me through the contact form on this blog or my website, and we will make sure that you get your patterns. (If you don’t mind, please do not comment on the blog, as I won’t be able to send you the link publicly, which will just make it look to other readers like I’m ignoring you.)

I hope this helps those who have trouble with the Modern Appliqué Illusions patterns. Considering how quickly electronic media evolve, I’m convinced that this was the best and most cost-effective way to make the patterns available over the long term. However, I do apologize for any difficulties and hope that you will turn to me and/or C&T to resolve any issues. I deeply appreciate your interest in my book!

Thanks for reading, and have a great weekend, everyone!

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

