Hello Again!

So, as is news to nobody, I’ve been on hiatus from this blog for a while now. Truth be told, I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus from reading blogs, too, which is perhaps why posting here became so easy to fall behind on. As I’ve been reminded, though,  I’ve been promising you lots of content, and I have no intention of giving up on it. Whether you are still here reading after my long blog break, or if you are newly discovering The Studiolo, thank you! Here’s an overview of what I’ve been doing over the last several months, and a sneak peak of what you have to look forward to this fall!

1. Summer Project #1: Moving

CaseyYork_NewHouse

If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook, you’ll be sick of hearing updates about our new house, but if you don’t yet, you might not know that my husband and I bought our first house early this summer and have been slowly settling in ever since. It’s been quite and adventure. Since the kids have gone back to school (the academic year starts early in St. Louis), I’ve had a chance to get to know and fall in love with our new neighborhood. We still have a lot of work to do to bring this house up to the beautiful bar set by our neighbors, but I’m excited to see how it all develops in the coming years. (Did I mention that we’ve never lived somewhere for over five years? Even thinking about this process in terms of years instead of weeks has been an adjustment…)

2. Summer Projects #2: Settling into my new studio

CaseyYork_StudioVintage

That’s right–I’m lucky enough to have a dedicated sewing/work room in this new home! It took me a while to decide how to best make use of the space and finally unpack all the boxes, but project deadlines demanded that I get to it. My first project in my new studio was the Coiffure quilt for Kim Andersson’s new Good Hair Day fabric collection, and I’m pleased to announce that the pattern will be available soon!

CaseyYork_Coiffure

Image courtesy of Windham Fabrics

3. Ongoing Project #3: The next book!

CaseyYork_TheAppliqueBook

I’m excited to announce that I’ve been working on a second book with C&T Publishing/Stash Books! My work has been mainly behind the scenes over the summer, but since it’s recently been listed for pre-order on-line, I think I can spill the beans that this will be THE book to consult when it comes to all things modern appliqué. I worked with an amazing group of contributors who created gorgeous and fun projects to introduce you to the book’s many techniques. I also had the privilege of profiling a fabulous group of quilters and artists who use appliqué in their work. The Appliqué Book is all set to be released in March of 2016, so please keep your eyes out for it!

I did a ton of other behind-the-scenes stuff this summer, including attending the International Contemporary Furniture Fair in NYC, registering as an LLC, securing an agent (!) for the surface pattern branch of my business, and getting accepted into a fantastic mentoring group for women entrepreneurs in St. Louis. I won’t go into all of them right this minute, but suffice to say it’s been a busy summer!

4. Sneak Peak

Sooooo, I also kind of left a lot of you hanging with regards to my upcoming series on Self-Publishing Patterns and the Block-of-the-Month pattern for my Take a Seat Quilt. Worry not–they are still on my agenda, and both series will begin in September.

CaseyYork_TakeASeat

The Take a Seat BOM will include a PDF pattern download for one applique block each month, while the Self-Publishing Patterns series will detail my experiences and others’ publishing their own stand alone patterns. I’ll also be hosting a panel discussion on this topic at QuiltCon 2016 in Pasadena, so please join me in California!

QuiltCon2016

As always, thank you so much for reading (and for sticking with me through this quiet spell), and I look forward to hearing your comments and bringing you exciting content this fall!

5 thoughts on “Hello Again!

  1. I was literally thinking just this morning that I haven’t heard from you in a while! I’ve finally picked up my project from your class to keep working on and hopefully finish at last, haha >.< Congrats on your new book!! Can't wait to read your new series too, always excited to learn from others' experiences.

  2. I didn’t get time to thank you after your presentation at the Lakeside Community Center in Duluth during the MN Quilt Show. I had to scoot to another meeting. I wanted to let you know your presentation was one of best I have been to and I really took away a lot from it. Love your new studio and LOVE that chair quilt!

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

