Smash Your Precut Stash Blog Tour!

Good morning! It’s my pleasure today to be a stop on the blog tour for Kate Carlson Colleran’s and Elizabeth Veit Balderrama’s new book, Smash Your Precut Stash!

SmashYourPrecutStash_BlogTour

I am a tiny bit addicted to precuts, so when I learned there would be a new book devoted just to them, I jumped at the chance to review it. There is just something about having a piece of each design in an entire collection that deeply satisfies the collector in me. Although I love to mix and match fabrics as much as the next person, and that was indeed how I began quilting, I’ve come to appreciate how working within a collection gives you a chance to connect with the vision of the fabric designer. I love trying to channel my interpretation of their visions into a finished quilt. Precuts offer a perfect opportunity to do just that without having to spend a lot on yardage, and I enjoy the challenge of trying to create a design that plays well with one of the many formats that exist.

11093, Colleran, SP15

Kate and Elizabeth go one step further in their book, devising patterns that utilize popular precuts, but also encouraging readers to mix in coordinating fabrics. Many of the patterns include options for using different types of precuts–for example either jelly roll strips or charm squares–to cut the same patchwork components needed for the finished project.

11093, Colleran, SP15

The authors kindly provided a few questions for us to answer during our stops on the blog hop, and here are a couple of my answers:

What color do you have the most of in your stash?

This is an interesting question, because my favorite color is red, and I have almost no red in my stash. I guess I have trouble finding the perfect red when I’m shopping. Perhaps it’s easier for me to fall in love with other colors in fabric because I don’t hold them to the same impossible standard?

Of course, my other favorite color is white–which I use all the time for backgrounds–and I buy that by the bolt. :)

What is your favorite precut to use or what do you have the most of in your stash?

Charm squares are definitely my favorite precut, even though many of my applique designs require larger pieces. Charms are just such wonderful (and easy) impulse buys: a whole collection of fabric for the price of a couple of lattes? Yes, please!

CaseyYork_CharmPacks

What is your favorite pattern in the book?

I love many of the patterns in the book, and it would be fantastic to see them made up in various fabric collections (Elizabeth and Kate included a gallery of quilts that does a bit of just this). Two of my favorites are Down the Garden Path (above), which taught me a new way of making French braid units, and Bits ‘n’ Blocks, which seems like a perfect design to showcase a mini-charm pack (another tempting impulse buy for me…)

ColleranAndValderrama_BitsNBlocks

Kate and Elizabeth have generously provided me with a copy of the book to give away to a lucky reader. If you are in the US, you will receive a paperback copy of the book, and if you are outside of the US, you’ll receive an electronic copy. To enter, simply leave a quick comment below so that I will have a way to contact you; if you’d like, I’d also love to hear what your favorite precut is and why! Edited to add: I forgot to give a deadline for this giveaway-sorry about that! The giveaway will be open until midnight on Friday, May 1, and I’ll choose and a winner at random on Saturday, May 2.

Also, make sure to visit these other stops on the blog hop to learn more about the book and enter for a chance to win!

Tuesday April 21: C&T Publishing
Wednesday April 22: Jackie Kunkel of Canton Village Quiltworks
Thursday April 23: Linda Pearl of The Patchwork Pearl
Friday April 24: Debbie Grifka of Esch House Quilts
Saturday April 25: Me!
Monday April 27: Becky Jorgensen of Patchwork Posse
Tuesday April 28: Susan Emory of Swirly Girls
Wednesday April 29: Pat  Sloan
Thursday April 30th: Seams Like a Dream

85 thoughts on “Smash Your Precut Stash Blog Tour!

  1. Fat quarters are my favorite precut — I find them the most versatile of all the precuts. Of course, I have enjoyed using many other precuts like jelly rolls, charms, and layer cakes.

  2. Definitely fat quarters – they are so versatile, and I often get offcuts of charm squares and such out of the left-over scraps

  3. Apart from fat quarters I’ve never used pre-cuts…. I tend to use leftover scraps from dressmaking. There’s some nice looking quilts in this book to tempt me :-)

  4. I prefer working with fat quarters because I can make many different shapes and sizes from the fabric. Most of my scraps get cut into charms or 21/2″ strips though because so many patterns use them.

  5. Pingback: Seams Like a Dream Quilt Designs — Day 5 of the Smash Your Precut Stash book blog tour

  6. My favorite pre cut is fat quarters-there are just so many options for them in either piecing or applique.Love the book tour and thanks for the giveaway chance!

  7. Charm packs give me a chance to play with a line, without having to spend a lot of money or being left with a lot fabric I’m not crazy about.

  8. The precut I have the most of is fat quarters. I love the look of a jelly roll, but don’t seem to know how to use it effectively.

  9. I’m seeing some beautiful pictures of quilts from this book along the blog hop. I have a lot of fat quarters and some charm squares I would love to make use of with this book. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  10. My favorite are fat quarters, but later cakes would be close behind. I love the quilts from the book! Thanks for the review and giveaway.

  11. I enjoy collecting fat quarters. I go into shops just to get more FQs! With a FQ I can cut it into all the othe cuts I need.

  12. My favourite precut is a fat quarter. A fat quarter is big enough for a small project but when put together with other fat quarters, I have enough to make a quilt.

    • Oops…forgot to add Why? sorry

      Fat Quarters can be cut in all sorts of sizes…and Charms give you a bit of each fabric in a Collection. (Am building a Stash lol)

  13. I love charm squares because I can do so much with them! That’s why I need this book, my charms are overflowing!

  14. I think charm squares are my favourite, although I buy a lot of fat quarters and half yards, usually I don’t keep those with the collection, but break it up. But charm squares are really versatile.

  15. Although I love FQs, those lovely bundles are expensive! So I often buy layer cakes. Enough fabric to give me some options, but not such a big investment.

  16. I love fat quarters because they give me the most fabric of the pre-cuts and jelly rolls because they are so easy to use!!

  17. I love love love the beautiful blues of the asian panel quilt! Truly reflects the stunning bold colors found in both China and Japan in so many fabrics! Would love to have the book for even more Asian inspired design ideas for using precuts in quilts & wall hangings!

  18. Charm squares are my favorite precut for all the reasons you listed. They’re so easy to work with. I often use them as the centers for log cabin quilts, too–a fun focus.

  19. I really like all of them but Jelly Rolls are my favorite. They store so neatly and are such fun to open up and use. I’m going to love this book for sure.

  20. I really like Jelly Rolls. They are sew much fun. They stack easily, strip quilt patterns are everywhere and I just like working with them.

  21. I do love most pre-cuts but fat quarters are my favorite. I guess because there’s more to them for me to rub my face on when I’m not using them!!! :)
    Thanks so much for the chance to win
    Debby E
    samtaylorcjsmimi at yahoo dot com

  22. This is a super quilt design. I love the weaving strips and the use of the charm packs, plus all of the colors! My favorite pre-cuts are jelly rolls right now. They are so versatile and easy to work with. But hand me a few charm packs and I’d probably say the same thing!

  23. I love fat quarters. I’m a little nervous about other precuts because I’m not always sure how to use them best– this book would be awesome to help alleviate that!

  24. Loved your blogpost – am hoping to try out one of these projects from the book. I have pinned some on pinterest.
    Thanks

  25. My absolute favorite are charm packs. so many ways to make beautiful and versatile quilts. Right now I love sewing up disappearing 4 and 9 patches :)

  26. I love FQ bundles but if you aren’t counting those then I generally prefer charm packs because they are big enough to be used by themselves and they are easy to sub-cut if you need a smaller piece. Thanks for a chance to win!

  27. I have quite the fat quarter collection. It allows me a greater variety but if I want the whole collection, a layer cake is my choice.

  28. What a great book! I’m loving the projects in it! Jelly Rolls are my favorite! I have never used a layer cake . so maybe that’s my next pick!

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

