Modern Applique Illusions: Perspective

Welcome back to this next-to-final post on the Modern Appliqué Illusions blog tour. I’ve had such a great time sharing more details about each quilt in the book with you over the past two weeks, and I’m so grateful for your following along! Today, I’ll be talking about the final quilt in the book–Perspective. Before you read my post, though, hop over to my friend Cindy Lammon’s blog, Hyacinth Quilt Designs, to see the mini project she made from this pattern and hear her thoughts about the book!

CaseyYork_Perspective

Perspective is a fitting project to close out a book about using perspective and depth in quilts, since it’s message to viewers is to “Keep Things in Perspective.” (In all honesty, this is something that I need to tell myself all the time, and I think it’s a powerful message in addition to being a good catch phrase for the book.)

IMG_2336

The twist to this quilt is that the appliqués are the shadows of the letters, and the letters themselves are created from the negative space between those appliqués. The book includes patterns for the entire alphabet in these letters, so you can design your own quilt to say whatever you want it to. In fact, I’ll even be teaching a class on designing and making your own Perspective alphabet quilt top at Quilt Con in a couple of months! (There are still a couple of spots left, if you are interested in signing up!)

IMG_2339

This is the second quilt in the book that I sent to Angela Walters for quilting, and I gave her free rein to do whatever she wanted with the negative space (although I did ask her to outline the “letters” to emphasize them). She came through with flying colors, creating this cool, flowing geometric pattern.

IMG_2332

My initial inspiration for this quilt was modernist, mid-century home numbers–the kind that use a san-serif font in high relief, so that the shadows of the letter forms contribute to their appearance. I found an ideal backing fabric in Trenna Travis’s Bekko line for Michael Miller; even though it’s a home decor weight fabric, it doesn’t add a lot of bulk or stiffness to the quilt, and Angela assured me that it quilted up just fine.

This quilt is essentially just solids, as I wasn’t left with much backing fabric. Still, if you’d like to try your luck at winning a scrap bag of leftovers, as well as some Pellon 805 Wonder Under, don’t forget to leave  a comment on this post. I’ll draw a winner in three days (so, midnight, Nov. 25). And congratulations to Lisa Marie, the winner of the scrap bag for Tunnel Vision!

Remember to check out Cindy’s post today, and tune in again tomorrow for the finale and two final giveaways–one here and one at Modern Quilts Unlimited! Thanks again for reading, and enjoy the weekend!

11/10: C&T Publishing
11/11: Jenifer Dick/42 Quilts 
11/12: Debbie Grifka/Esch House Quilts 
11/13: Kathy Mack/Pink Chalk Studio 
11/14: Shannon Brinkley/Bottle Tree
11/15:  Pellon 
11/16: Kevin Kosbab/Feed Dog Designs
11/17: Generation Q Magazine
11/18: Krista Robbins/Sew What’s Cooking?
11/19: Fat Quarter Shop/Jolly Jabber
11/20: Violet Craft 
11/21: Kristy Daum/St. Louis Folk Victorian
11/22: Cindy Lammon/Hyacinth Quilt Designs
11/23: Modern Quilts Unlimited

6 thoughts on “Modern Applique Illusions: Perspective

  1. Again Brilliant!! First looking at the quilt I would not have guessed that the shadow was the applique as I thought both the shadow and the letter were the applique. Unique spin on making letters. I do hope a second book is in the works. Reading these posts has been sew much fun. kthurn@bektel.com

  2. A trip of discovery is what viewing your work has been for me. Perspective is my 2015 word. When I first saw this quilt I thought the letters were appliqued onto the shadow and then pieced into the quilt. I am blown away by the way you did it, so simply, to look so realistic.

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

