Modern Applique Illusions: Tunnel Vision

Good morning! Thanks again for tuning into the Modern Appliqué Illusions blog tour! Today, I’m excited to send you over to the Jolly Jabber, the blog of the Fat Quarter Shop, to read a little more about the book and my approach to writing it!

Today’s quilt is Tunnel Vision. This is another of the simpler quilts in the book, but it packs a big impact. It consists of a single reverse applique piece in the center–the light at the end of the tunnel, and the perspective illusion is created by the quilting pattern, which is done in contrasting thread.

CaseyYork_TunnelVision

I wanted to do something really minimal and almost abstract, and this quilt was inspired by blueprints and by the types of schematic drawings that are often used to illustrate the mathematical bases for one-point perspective. Ironically, I didn’t use a lot of complex math or geometry to mark the quilting lines. Instead, I started with the horizontal lines, which I spaced using my Receding Quilting technique. I used those lines as a starting point for drawing the vertical lines, and the vertical lines in turn served as a starting point for drawing the arched lines. The book contains diagrams illustrating this process and giving measurements for the lines that radiate from the center, so that you can easily recreate this quilt at home.

CaseyYork_TunnelVision_Back

I wanted something equally abstract and geometric for the backing, and I found a lovely print by Art Gallery Fabrics at a local quilt shop. This has been one of those quilts where multiple perfect backings have since come to my attention, but I’m still pretty happy with how the one I chose turned out.

If you’re interested in winning some of this fabric and some other scraps leftover from Tunnel Vision, make sure to leave a comment on this post. While you’re at it, don’t forget to hop over to the Jolly Jabber to enter to win a copy of the book! And congratulations to Tabitha, who won the drawing from the Grove post!

Thanks again for reading, and please continue to follow along–there are still a lot of great stops scheduled for the tour!

11/10: C&T Publishing
11/11: Jenifer Dick/42 Quilts 
11/12: Debbie Grifka/Esch House Quilts 
11/13: Kathy Mack/Pink Chalk Studio 
11/14: Shannon Brinkley/Bottle Tree
11/15:  Pellon 
11/16: Kevin Kosbab/Feed Dog Designs
11/17: Generation Q Magazine
11/18: Krista Robbins/Sew What’s Cooking?
11/19: Fat Quarter Shop/Jolly Jabber
11/20: Violet Craft 
11/21: Kristy Daum/St. Louis Folk Victorian
11/22: Cindy Lammon/Hyacinth Quilt Designs
11/23: Modern Quilts Unlimited

6 thoughts on “Modern Applique Illusions: Tunnel Vision

  1. What a neat quilt! I’d like to learn reverse appliqué, maybe next year, hehe. Love hearing how you marked your lines and the backing fabric is awesome!

    Thank you for a super giveaway and a chance to win.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Every time I look at this quilt I am amazed at the simplicity of the makings….2 fabrics and thread……….genius in how they are used. Thank you so much for sharing these ideas with us.

  3. I glanced again at the quilt and I realized the tunnel illusion you’ve created also shows in reverse…the light is popping out at the front too!

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

