Modern Applique Illusions: River Bend

Good morning, and thanks again for following along with all of the blog posts on the Modern Appliqué Illusions tour! Today, check out my friend Krista Robbins’s blog, Sew What’s Cooking?, to read her reactions to the book and see the mini project she made from my Ripples pattern!

CaseyYork_RiverBend

I’ve been having a great time exploring each project in the book in greater detail, and today’s quilt is River Bend. This is probably one of the simplest quilts in the book to make, comprising a seamed background and just two applique pieces (the river banks). I was inspired by the late summer thunderstorms that my family sometimes sees when we are traveling around the upper Midwest where we live. At the end of the storm bright sunlight will slice across the ground, creating this odd juxtaposition of brightly lit ground and ominously dark, cloudy sky. I think the ombre fabric, by Vanessa Christenson for Moda Fabrics, perfectly captures the effect I was going for.

11067, York, FA14

I quilted the sky on a rented long arm at a local quilt shop, using an organic cloud motif in contrasting silver thread. For the river banks below, I found the perfect shade of gold Aurifil to quilt organic Receding quilting lines.

CaseyYork_RiverBend_Back

I envisioned this quilt, which is quite small, as a modern, minimalist baby quilt, and I found the perfect backing fabric in Joel Dewberry’s Modern Meadow line from a few years back.

If you’d like to win a bit of fabric left over from making this quilt, along with some Pellon Wonder Under, make sure to leave a comment on this post–I’ll draw a winner in three days (so midnight, Nov. 21). Also, don’t forget to enter the giveaway on the Grove post for a chance to win a copy of the book–that one ends tonight at midnight! Finally, congratulations to Linda, whose name was drawn for the Chicken Scratch giveaway!

Thanks again for following along with the blog tour! If you’ve missed any stops (and any chances to win a copy of the book!), here’s the full schedule for you:

11/10: C&T Publishing
11/11: Jenifer Dick/42 Quilts 
11/12: Debbie Grifka/Esch House Quilts 
11/13: Kathy Mack/Pink Chalk Studio 
11/14: Shannon Brinkley/Bottle Tree
11/15:  Pellon 
11/16: Kevin Kosbab/Feed Dog Designs
11/17: Generation Q Magazine
11/18: Krista Robbins/Sew What’s Cooking?
11/19: Fat Quarter Shop/Jolly Jabber
11/20: Violet Craft 
11/21: Kristy Daum/St. Louis Folk Victorian
11/22: Cindy Lammon/Hyacinth Quilt Designs
11/23: Modern Quilts Unlimited

 

18 thoughts on “Modern Applique Illusions: River Bend

  1. I really love this quilt. Now this is one I’d be able to do. I love how the clouds are really just the quilting stitches. Good use of the fabric for the sky. I couldn’t imagine using anything else. Hopefully, it’ll be available when I get around to making it.

  2. It’s beautiful and I love how you quilted it, especially the clouds. Just curious – why did you decide to applique the riverbanks instead of the river? Is it easier to work with those pieces than to work with something so curvy?

  3. What a beautiful quilt! Love the ombre fabric you used for the sky and the quilting design for the clouds is awesome! Love the fabric you used for the back as well.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. I bought this book and want to make some of the quilts. The url (tinyurl.com/11067-patterns-download) that is listed in the book for downloading the patterns does not work. Do you have any suggestions? It doesn’t even come up that this link exists. I bought the book and the fabric, but can’t get the pattern. The only thing that shows up is a link to where I can buy the book, and I’ve already bought it.

    • Ok – I too am dying to start a quilt from this collection – but cannot get anywhere with this listed downloading information. What am I doing wrong?

      • Hi Sheila,
        I’m so sorry to hear you’re encountering trouble with the downloads. I sent you an email this morning. Hope you’re able to get them soon!

  5. I am so ready to make your quilts in Modern Applique Illusions but cannot down load the pattern files. It says that the link does not exist. I have tried a bunch of times. Thanks for your time.

  6. I just bought the Modern Applique Illusions book. I love the book, but I am unable to access (tinyurl.com/11067-patterns-download) that is listed in the book for downloading the patterns . Can someone HELP. Thanks in advance.

  7. I’m happy to say that C&T has allowed me to post a few tips that will help in accessing the PDF patterns for the book. If you’ve previously posted here, I’ve gotten back to you privately via email. If you’re new here and having trouble downloading the patterns, please see this post. If you continue to have trouble, please email me directly at casey AT casey-york.com (or use the contact form on this blog) so that I can further assist you!

    Thank you so much for your interest in my book!

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

