Modern Applique Illusions: Concrete Jungle

Happy Monday, everyone! I hope you all had enjoyable weekends, without *too* much snow. (Having grown up in northern Minnesota, I’ve already had enough snow for a lifetime. :) ) Welcome back to the Modern Appliqué Illusions blog tour. Today’s post by Teri Lucas (who I had the great pleasure of meeting for the first time at Quilt Market) can be found at the Generation Q blog, so hop over there for a good read and another chance to win a copy of the book!

As Teri mentions in her post, my quilt for today is Concrete Jungle, which uses two-point perspective to achieve it’s illusion of space. Two-point perspective is a system for representing forms that are seen from a diagonal point of view instead of straight on. It’s a lot like one-point perspective in that lines converge upon vanishing points at the horizon, but in this case there are two vanishing points, and they are placed at either edge of the canvas or even beyond the boundaries of the canvas, as in Concrete Jungle.

CaseyYork_ConcreteJungle

I love the fish-eye lens effect that Concrete Jungle gives, but I have to admit that this was one of the more challenging quilts in the book to lay out. This is because the appliqués are huge–that building at the left edge of the quit is about five feet tall! Luckily, I had chosen some great fabrics from Parson Gray’s World Tour collection by David Butler. I knew the colors of these fabrics were perfect for the architectural theme of the quilt, but what I didn’t realize when I ordered them was that the geometric layout of their prints would come in so handy when trying to cut out the appliques and ensure the edges were somewhat straight.

I continued the theme of urban architecture on the back of the quilt, with a pieced motif in the form of coursed bricks.

CaseyYork_QuiltBack2

I quilted this one simply, using vertical straight lines to reinforce the verticality of the buildings. I spaced the lines closer together in the buildings that appear farther away, to increase the illusion of receding space. I also used horizontal lines in the “sky” that are spaced according to my “Receding Quilting” method.

11067, York, FA14

I have lots of great scraps left over from this quilt, and I can’t wait to give them away to a lucky commenter, along with some Pellon Wonder Under! I’ll draw a winner at random in three days (so, midnight on Nov. 20). And congratulations to Karen, who is the winner of the Flight Plan scraps!

Thanks again for following along with the tour! If you’ve missed any stops, here’s the complete schedule!

11/10: C&T Publishing
11/11: Jenifer Dick/42 Quilts 
11/12: Debbie Grifka/Esch House Quilts 
11/13: Kathy Mack/Pink Chalk Studio 
11/14: Shannon Brinkley/Bottle Tree
11/15:  Pellon 
11/16: Kevin Kosbab/Feed Dog Designs
11/17: Generation Q Magazine
11/18: Krista Robbins/Sew What’s Cooking?
11/19: Fat Quarter Shop/Jolly Jabber
11/20: Violet Craft 
11/21: Kristy Daum/St. Louis Folk Victorian
11/22: Cindy Lammon/Hyacinth Quilt Designs
11/23: Modern Quilts Unlimited

7 thoughts on “Modern Applique Illusions: Concrete Jungle

  1. I enjoy reading your descriptions of how you used the fabric and quilting to achieve the desired perspective. Again another brilliant modern-quilt art piece.

  2. If the one on the left is 5 feet tall, the one on the right must be about 8 feet or so. Wow!

    Oh, wait…

    I used a couple of World Tour fabrics in my most recent finish. They work great in your quilt!

  3. WoW! Love this quilt and what a great name for it. That five foot building, that’s alot of applique, hehe.

    I’m just leaving a comment as I recently won a scrap bag, Thanks Casey!

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. This looks so simple to make but realize from experience that the knowledge you used to make it is what makes it appear simple. Love your backs, that they include and play off the fabrics and themes of the fronts.

  5. I love this concrete jungle quilt. Such interesting shapes and depth. I wonder how this quilt would go if it was pieced rather than appliqué? I’m really enjoying all your quilts and descriptions of how you do your work

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

