Bloggers’ Quilt Festival!

It’s that time of year again, time for Amy Ellis’s bi-annual Bloggers’ Quilt Festival! Amy provides such a great opportunity to share one’s work with a wider audience, and to discover fantastic new quilting bloggers to follow! If you are in need of some inspiration, or simply some fantastic eye candy, click over to her site and browse through the various categories of quilts that will be linked to over the next week!

CaseyYork_TakeASeatMy choice of category is always simple–I’m an appliqué girl. I’m excited this spring to be entering my Take a Seat quilt (which also included a relatively large amount of piecing for me, as those of you who are familiar with my work will know). Honestly, I think one of the things I was most excited about with this quilt was that my pieced squares lined up fairly regularly! :)

CaseyYork_TakeASeat_Detail2I’ve posted about this quilt before here, but the short story is that I’ve always been enamored of sampler quilts and thought that it would be neat to do one in a modern appliqué style. I’m also a total furniture geek, and I love the abstract yet functional beauty of chairs of all types. When the Studio E Peppered Cottons challenge came around earlier this year, I all of a sudden had a fantastic fabric to work with and a good reason for finally making this quilt that I’d been fantasizing about for a year.

CaseyYork_TakeASeat_Detail1I loved that the Peppered Cottons, which are crosswoven with two different colored threads per fabric, have a looser weave, which reminds me of mid-century modern upholstery (also, they’re soooo soft). I embroidered around each raw-edge applique shape with Aurifil‘s Lana wool blend thread, which I think complements the slightly nubby texture of the shot cottons perfectly.

CaseyYork_TakeASeat_BackDetail1I quilted each square with parallel lines that face in different directions, and quilted more parallel lines in the sashing to frame each square. I’m making another version of this quilt for myself, (see more about that below), and I think I might change the sashing to be narrower. Other than that, I’m absolutely thrilled with how this one turned out.

CaseyYork_TakeASeat_BackThis quilt is currently being shipped to my sister- and brother-in-law as a first anniversary gift. Reuben is a furniture designer, artisan, and teacher, and probably the only other person I know who will get as excited about these chairs as I am. You can check out some of his amazing work here.

CaseyYork_TakeASeat3Also, based on the response to my first blog post about this quilt, I’ve decided to offer the patterns as a free Block of the Month program starting this June! I’ll post one PDF appliqué template each month, along with tips and suggestions for raw edge appliqué and a little history about the chair design featured in that block.  At the end of the series, I’ll give instructions for putting the whole thing together. I think twelve months for twelve blocks will be a nice relaxed pace, and I hope that the process of fusible appliqué will convince some of you to try out this technique and find out how easy and satisfying it is!

BloggersQuiltFestival2014Spring

Thanks for reading, and make sure to click over to Amy’s blog to see all of the amazing entries in this spring’s Festival!!

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Bloggers’ Quilt Festival!

  1. I love this quilt!! Such a great collection of chairs, and i love your play with colour and negative space.

  2. I’m a furniture geek too! I love this design and the way you executed it! And I am totally excited that you’re going to share the patterns!!!! Thank you, thank you!

  3. Yess! I’m so (SO) excited that you decided to offer the BOM.. :) Can’t wait to make some chairs of my own!

  4. This quilt is so cool! Having taken some interior decorating courses I was immediately interested by all the chairs! I will have to check back for your BOM! :)

  5. What a unique quilt: so beautiful and yet simple. I think I just may have to check out your BOM, one of my favorite ways of working. Thanks for sharing,

  6. This is such a cool quilt, it caught my attention right away! :D I love the colors you chose and the white silhouettes are such a fun modern twist. Beautiful work!

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

