Patch’plique Pillow–Stitch Magazine

I found out yesterday that the latest issue of Interweave’s Stitch magazine is out, and I’m delighted to have contributed a project!

Stitch_Summer2014

Photo by James Weber; used with permission from Interweave Stitch

This Summer’s issue is all about color and contains several wonderful collections of projects inspired by summer and travel. I adore the Hibiscus appliqué pillow on the cover, by Tina Lewis, and it’s gotten all kinds of new design ideas flowing through my head.

CaseyYork_PatchpliquePillow2_StitchSummer2014

Photo by James Weber; used with permission from Interweave Stitch

You can find my project, the Patch’pliqué pillow, on page 30, with instructions beginning on page 69. I designed this pillow cover to use mini-charm squares, which are the perfect size for stitching together a patchwork pillow. The white swallow appliqué on the front is matched by a reversed patchwork appliqué on the back, making the front of the pillow look like a negative of the front.

CaseyYork_PatchpliqueBack_StitchSummer2014

Photo by James Weber; used with permission from Interweave Stitch

Although the Stitch suggests this is a project you’ll want to make before you take off on your summer road trip, may I also recommend it as a great project to work on in the car? Like most of my appliqué projects, I hand embroidered this one, and the pillow front and back panels are the perfect size to pick up and bring with you on the road.

I had the good fortune to work with Vanessa Christenson’s new Color Me Happy line for Moda for this project, which I’m now seeing on fabric store shelves. It has just the right combination of hot, summery colors for this issue of Stitch!

The issue is packed with 36 sewing projects, and also includes a fantastic profile of Rashida Coleman-Hale and essay by Heather Ross! If you’d like to check out this issue, you can order a digital copy directly from Interweave’s website; the paper editions are also carried by many fabrics and crafts stores.

Many thanks to Stitch for letting me use their photos for this post, and many thanks to you for reading!

 

3 thoughts on “Patch’plique Pillow–Stitch Magazine

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

