Star Crossed Blog Tour and Giveaway!

It’s my pleasure this morning to introduce you to a new pattern released by my friend Krista! You may already be familiar with Krista’s work–she’s published not one but two patterns in the magazine Quilty recently (in the Nov./Dec. and Jan./Feb. issues). She keeps an active blog, Sew What’s Cooking, where she recently hosted the Japanese Modern block-of-the-month quilt along and regularly posts some great recipes.

Krista and I met through our local St. Louis chapter of the Modern Quilt Guild and got to know each other through our twelve-member quilting bee. It turns out that we don’t live far from one another, so I’ve been able to spend some additional time with her, and I was super excited when I heard that she was venturing into the pattern design world.

KristaRobbins_StarCrossedHer first pattern, Star Crossed is a knockout, combining the Irish Chain and Ohio Star concepts into a lovely modern take on traditional quilt patterns. This modern interpretation of traditional styles is a cornerstone of Krista’s new company, Four Robbins Designs, and you should click over to her new website to see what other designs she’s got in the works. I was privileged to see some of the concepts for Star Crossed while Krista was developing the pattern, and I really love what she’s come up with. Krista’s instructions include directions for making several sizes–baby, crib, throw, and queen. It’s an incredibly versatile pattern, and would look great made up in many different types of fabrics. Krista’s pattern even includes some ideas for alternative layouts using the four blocks that make up the design.

But you don’t have to take my word for it. Krista has generously offered a PDF copy of her pattern to one of my readers! To enter the giveaway, just leave a comment below telling me what projects you’re excited to get working on this spring. You have until next Thursday night to enter, and  I’ll choose a random winner next Friday, April 4. I also encourage you to visit some of the other stops of the Star Crossed blog hop, where you can learn even more about the pattern and enter for additional chances to win a copy.

Monday 3/24 – Krista at Sew What’s Cooking?
Tuesday 3/25  – Kyndra at Sewlio Designs
Wednesday 3/26 – Melissa at Missouri Mel
Thursday 3/27 – Kristy at St. Louis Folk Victorian
Friday 3/28 – Casey at The Studiolo
Saturday 3/29 – Cindy at Hyacinth Quilt Designs
Sunday, 3/3 – Kelly at Live Love Create

And in the meantime, you can always check out Krista’s page on Craftsy, where you can purchase Star Crossed and keep track of her future pattern releases–she’s got a several in development, so make sure to check back often to see what she’s up to!

20 thoughts on “Star Crossed Blog Tour and Giveaway!

  1. Right now I am working on a Scrappy Trip Around the world. I have finally cut into my precioussss stash of Picnic and Fairgrounds by Denyse Schmidt…! So far I’ m not regretting it!

  2. I want to make two Swoon quilts (identical ones – one for me and one for my brother), a triangle quilt in a QAL, a mini umbrella quilt for my guild, a house pillow for an attendance incentive for my Sunday school class (the block is made) and now a Star Crossed queen quilt in red, white and blue.

  3. I’m going to be working on a quilt for my son and one for our travel trailer.
    Thanks for the chance to win this beautiful pattern.

  4. This spring I’m anxious to make a new quilt for my bed, to make a project carrier, and to make an entry for our local quilt show,

  5. I’m making bags like crazy!!! I’m super busy with work, so these quick projects are fun and make me feel productive. Thanks for the giveaway

  6. Love this pattern. My goal for the year is to use my stash as much as possible. Only purchase if I need that one piece to complete project.

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

