Concourse

I’ve been holding off on showing this mini-quilt for a while, since I entered it in the Grand Central Terminal Centennial Challenge hosted by American Patchwork and Quilting and the City Quilter in NYC. As part of their rules, they stated that entries needed to not have been previously published, and while I don’t know if my little blog would count, I didn’t want to take a chance of being disqualified.Anyway, the first round of judging has come and gone and I don’t seem to have made it to the next, so now I can share with you!! I’m still pretty proud of this little quilt.

CaseyYork_Concourse

During the time I lived in NYC, Grand Central was one of my favorite places to be. The sheer number of people coming and going was exhilarating–I always in the company of people doing important things. Like this gentleman checking his watch (perhaps against the tables listing train departures?)

CaseyYork_Traveler

That’s also why I titled this one Concourse. In addition to referring to the physical Main Concourse of the Terminial, the word “concourse” means “a gathering of people.” Grand Central is the ultimate gathering spot, as anyone who has ever surfed the crowds there will tell you.

I also included Grand Central’s iconic Information Center–a landmark for meeting people in the colossal space.

CaseyYork_ClockDet

I quilted it with diagonal lines streaming from the huge windows that illuminate the Main Concourse from the south, recalling the light that beams through so many vintage photos of the space.

The fabric is printed especially for the City Quilter, which has its own line of NYC themed fabrics. I chose to use fabric which reproduces the enormous ceiling mural of the Main Concourse, which features signs of the zodiac. City Quilter actually licensed the images (and the specific color, I believe) for the purposes of this contest!

I’m so happy to finally be able to share this one–it’s incredibly meaningful to me since I still miss living in NYC. I can’t wait to see the finalists in the contest–I’m sure I’ll be both blown away and incredibly nostalgic!

CaseyYork_Concourse4

Thanks for sharing with me, and have a lovely weekend!!

3 thoughts on “Concourse

  1. Casey, I love your rendition of Grand Central Station I also love people watching there when I visit Thanks for sharing your talent

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

