Atomic Age: Modern Quilts Unlimited

I’ve been trying to stay active here on the blog this summer, but I have to admit that it’s been a drag not being able to show you what I’ve been working on. So imagine how excited I was to see what came in the mail today!

CaseyYork_MQUSummer2013

I love Modern Quilts Unlimited, so I was absolutely thrilled when they accepted one of my patterns for publication in their Summer 2013 issue. That was back in, um, November (I think), and I sent in the finished quilt in March, so it’s been a while since I’ve seen this one.

CaseyYork_AtomicAgeMQU2

I designed Atomic Age to be charm pack friendly, and Jenn Ski‘s Mod Century fabric for Moda was the perfect choice for creating the sample. (Her focal print reminds me of the cover of Time Out by the Dave Brubeck Quartet, which I listened to on repeat while I embroidered this one.)

CaseyYork_AtomicAgeMQU

I’m completely smitten with Gregory Case’s photography of my quilt–like everyone, I tend to focus on the imperfections, and his photographs make them all seem to disappear.

And to top it all off, Atomic Age made the cover inset!! I can’t even tell you how wide my grin was twhen I learned that.

CaseyYork_MQUSummer20132

Modern Quilts Unlimited‘s Summer 2013 issue is shipping now and should be on news stands soon, so be sure to pick up a copy. Not because of my quilt, of course, but because it’s one of the best modern quilting magazines out there, and this issue does not disappoint. There are lots of amazing patterns, a great article on Brigitte Heitland (one of my quilty heroes), and even instructions on making piped binding (the learning of which is on my to-do list). A huge shoutout to Vicki, Carol, and everyone else at MQU for knocking out of the park once again!

14 thoughts on “Atomic Age: Modern Quilts Unlimited

  1. Casey that’s fantastic news! I bet you’ve been bursting to share all this time and I can’t imagine how much sweeter it is learning that you’re a cover girl too ;) Congrats!

  2. Pingback: New Blogger Blog Hop: Week 7 |

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

