WIP Wednesday, 2-27-2013

I have lots of works in progress this week, so let’s jump right in, shall we?

First up, I’m working on recapping my experience last weekend at Quilt Con. It was fantastic, beyond my wildest expectations, and the organizers all deserve heaps of gratitude for putting on such an inspiring, professional, and smoothly run show! I took many pictures on the show floor and hope to feature some of those in forthcoming Weekend Inspiration posts.

IMG_7282

But that’s not a  sewing work in progress, you say? Well, this next project is related and it features fabric front and center. Among the many amazing vendors at Quilt Con was the local Austin store Stitch Lab. Sadly, I didn’t have the opportunity to visit their actual store, but I did spend a lot of time in their booth, pictured above. I’ve been wanting to make Jeni Baker’s Patchwork Chevron quilt since I saw Mary Claire’s version. I also fell hard for Tula Pink’s new Saltwater line when I saw some yardage (yes, yes, I know I’m late to the party), and I managed to snap up the last two charm packs from the Stitch Lab booth. I had a great time yesterday putting this top together. It’s terribly imperfect (seriously–please don’t look closely), but I still love it and have big plans for a pieced back and voile binding.

Saltwater-Patchwork-Chevron

I also spent some time this week putting together some pillows for a forthcoming Moda Bakeshop tutorial. I brought one of these pillow tops to Quilt Con to work on in my downtime, but I forgot my embroidery hoop, so I’ve been happy to get home and start in on hand-stitching the appliqués!

IMG_7339

Finally, I finished up the final edits on my two new quilt patterns and they’re ready to go! I’ll have a more official post tomorrow, as well as a giveaway, so make sure to check back!

I’m linking up with Lee at Freshly Pieced, so head over there to see what everyone else is up to and congratulate Lee on her Quilt Con show win!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday, 2-27-2013

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

