Weekend Inspiration, 2-8-2013: NYC edition

For the next several weeks, I’ll be tapping my own long-un-browsed photos for my weekend inspiration. This week, I thought I’d share some images from my trip to New York City last spring.

A little background on me and NYC: apparently as early as four years old I was insisting upon living in the “Big Apple.” That dream came true during graduate school, during which my husband and I lived in upper Manhattan for six years. Although I love our adopted city of St. Louis, I still relish every trip back to New York (and, truth be told, I would probably move back in a heartbeat if the opportunity arose). Inspired by this recent post by Hawthorne Threads, I’m planning an upcoming post on fabric shopping in NYC, at least as of May 2012. But for now, a couple of my favorite photos from last spring in Manhattan.

From top left: The Great Hall, Metropolitan Museum of Art; bouquets for sale at the Hester Street Fair; crewelwork pillows at ABC Carpet and Home; ubiquitous hexagonal paving stones (Riverside Park);  wall of Singer Featherweights in the window of All Saints, Soho; coffered entrance to the Apthorp, 79th and Broadway (I waited for the bus on this corner almost every day)

Now it’s your turn–please link to your inspiring images in the comments!

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

