Friday Finishes: Holiday Edition

Today is my sons’ last day of school before winter vacation and we leave town tomorrow to spend a week with family, so this week has been all about finishing up various holiday projects. As usual, this has required several late nights, but I think I’ve finally got everything under control.

IMG_6332

Most excitingly, I finished the appliqué on my Madrona Road challenge quilt, so it’s now ready to be embroidered–a project that actually has me looking forward to our six-hour car trip tomorrow. Since this project has such an early due date (mine is due at our St. Louis Modern Quilt Guild meeting the second week of February), I’m glad it’s coming together so quickly. I’m almost finished piecing the back , and I’m hoping that I’ll be ready to quilt it by the time we get back from our vacation

IMG_6293

I love the idea of handmade gifts, but in my family these tend to be limited to the consumable variety. Thus, I spent yesterday making cookies and chocolates for the kids’ teachers. This year, I made coconut lemongrass chocolates and packaged them up in little favor boxes from the local party supply store (*so* much more cost effective than the ones for sale at the craft stores).  For cookies I used a favorite recipe of my sisters and mine–graham cracker and chocolate chip snowballs rolled in coconut.  Our mom used to make these every year and, to me, they are the treat I associate most closely with Christmas. I hope the teachers and staff at the kiddos’ schools enjoy them!

IMG_6317

As a little more grown-up gift for family members, I’ve been making flavored cocktail mixers. This year, I made vanilla orange vodka (think Creamsicle, but in cocktail form) and vanilla apricot brandy. They look so attractive bottled up and labeled–this is definitely one of the easiest and most impressive homemade gifts I’ve come along.

IMG_6328

So this makes a small dent in the list of WIPs to finish in the coming months.  Now, if I can only finish with the packing and house cleaning before our departure tomorrow…

I hope you all have a lovely and relaxing holiday!

Linking up with Amanda Jean at CrazyMomQuilts.

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

