Shoal quilt, and other holiday WIPs

I’m thrilled to have my Apiary quilt featured on QuiltStory today! Thanks so much Heather and Megan!

Fresh Poppy Design

If you’ve arrived here from QuiltStory, welcome and thanks for visiting! I hope you’ll have a look around!

Edited to add: I’m also linking up to WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced, so if you’ve clicked over from there, welcome!

For my family, like many, the holidays mean lots of travel.  I grew up in northern Minnesota and my husband grew up in southeastern Wisconsin, which means that we have at least twenty-four combined hours of driving over the next week in order to visit everyone . This is actually a good thing (at least for me, not so much for my seven- and four-year-olds), since time in the passenger seat means lots of time for hand-sewing. My list of projects to finish by March is dizzying, so I’m definitely looking forward to having some time to sit back, relax with family, and churn out some of these WIPs at the same time!

IMG_6156

Two of the projects I’m most excited about are the MQG Madrona Road challenge and this quilt top for my younger son, Simon. This is a companion to the Apiary quilt that I just finished for Simon’s brother, Julian. Simon loves sharks and the color blue almost as much as Julian loves bees and the color yellow, so it wasn’t too difficult to decide on a theme for his quilt.

IMG_6155

I’m still in the process of embroidering around the silhouettes, and our upcoming series of six-hour car trips will give me a chance to make some serious progress. Which is good, because I have to get this baby handquilted by mid-March.

Because I am a wishful thinker, I’m planning on bringing another project just in case I finish this one (emphasis on *wishful* here). I love the Madrona Road line from Violet Craft for Michael Miller, and I can’t wait to get started on the Madrona Road challenge. My extra yardage arrived from the Fat Quarter Shop over the weekend, and I’m hoping to get the pieces cut and fused to the background today, so that I can bring it along too.

IMG_6284

I hope you all have a wonderful and relaxing holiday filled with creativity (and maybe a few finishes of your own!)

One thought on “Shoal quilt, and other holiday WIPs

  1. Pingback: Giveaway Day: New Patterns!! |

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

