Other things I make

-or-

The Inaugural Food Post

I am a slooooooow quilter, which doesn’t exactly provide me with a constant stream of content for this space.  But I cook all the time, so supplementing with recipes lab notes seems like it might be a good substitute.  Also, I am the world’s worst follower of recipes, which means that I never manage to remember exactly how I make things.  So if nothing else,  perhaps these entries can serve as reminders for me for the next time.

I initially intended this risotto recipe to go with braised lamb shank ragù; previously, I served it with lamb braised in red wine and rosemary, and it was awesome.  The ragù didn’t work as well, but the left-over risotto made amazing risotto cakes the next day, so there you go.

Roasted Garlic & Brussels Sprout Risotto

-Brussels sprouts

-1 head garlic

-salt, pepper

-olive oil

-butter

– arborio rice

– dry white wine

-chicken broth

-shredded parmesan cheese, if desired

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Remove peels from 3/4 of the cloves of garlic; slice Brussels sprouts in half.  Toss garlic and sprouts with salt, pepper, and enough olive oil to coat.

Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet and roast until sprouts are deep green and browning in places, and garlic cloves are soft.

Meanwhile, heat 2 tbsp. each of olive oil and butter over medium heat.  Dice the remaining 1/4 head of garlic and saute for a minute.  Add about 2 cups of arborio rice and toss to coat thoroughly with oil.  Saute until rice has turned opaque and begun to brown.

Add 1/2 cup of white wine to rice and stir.  When liquid has almost evaporated, add 1 cup of chicken broth and bring to a simmer, stirring rice frequently; when liquid has almost evaporated, add another cup of broth.  Continue to add broth, one cup at a time, until rice is cooked to taste (I use about five cups of broth for two cups of rice).

Mash larger roasted garlic cloves with a fork; add sprouts and garlic to risotto and stir gently to combine.  Stir in some shredded fresh parmesan if desired.  Serve warm  (shown here with a version of  Balsamic Glazed Salmon via the Food Network).

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

