Welcome!

Hi there, and many thanks for stopping by the Studiolo.  During the Italian Renaissance, a studiolo was a small room set aside for contemplation of one’s collections–of books, art, and other objects of wonder.  Eventually, they gave rise to Wunderkammern–or Cabinets of Curiosities–which flourished throughout early modern Europe.  I’d like to think of this space a type of on-line studiolo where I can collect and share the things that inspire me.

Gubbio Studiolo, detail; designed by Francesco di Giorgio Martini, executed by Benedetto and Giulio Maiano (c. 1439-1501; Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York)

One of my goals is to discuss the historical inspirations behind my patterns.  I just finished my graduate degree in art history (seriously–I graduated two days ago), and for almost as long as I’ve been interested in the history of art I’ve been using images from that history in the things that I make.  I envision my patterns as a way of connecting modern-day consumers with our shared aesthetic heritage, a connection that benefits from sharing some of the background about where certain motifs and ideas originated.

Musei Wormiani Historia, frontispiece from Museum Wormianum (c. 1655)

Having an on-line presence is an entirely new experience for me, and so I hope you’ll pardon witnessing my learning curve as I dive in.  Always a student, I’m open to suggestions about what you’d like to see in this space, and I hope that you’ll also write back to share the things that inspire you!

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

