Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Last fall I entered my first quilt  in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, hosted by Amy Ellis of Amy’s Creative Side, and the experience was wonderful. I love how the modern crafting movement has used the internet to create a warm and welcoming community, and I’m reminded each day how glad I am to be a part of it. If you are visiting for the first time from Amy’s blog, welcome! I hope you’ll have a look around and tell me what you think!

Spring-2013-BQF-button-e1365396620338

My entry for this Festival’s Appliqué category is Shoal, a quilt I made for my youngest son, Simon. Simon loves sharks and the color blue, so both feature in abundance in this quilt. It’s actually a companion to his older brother’s quilt, Apiary–when the two of them got new twin-size bunkbeds it created a excuse need to make them new bed quilts.

IMG_7356

My appliqué technique uses fusible web to secure the silhouettes to the background. With Shoal, I then stitched each applique down by hand and hand embroidered around each one to finish the edges. I learned to hand quilt in order to quilt Apiary with a hexagon patterns, and, since Simon’s quilt had to match, I hand quilted this one with a pattern of waves.

IMG_7353

As with Apiary, I really indulged my love of other fabrics and fibers in this quilt–the appliques consist of cotton shirting, madras plaid, linen, and wool suiting in addition to quilting cotton.

IMG_7367

I’m particularly happy to have found this perfect Tula Pink print for the back (and to have found enough of it, since it was out of print when I started this quilt!)

IMG_7346

Thank you so much for stopping by-I hope you’ll visit again soon!

17 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival

I love hearing from my readers, so thanks for considering leaving a comment. They always make my day!

